Contact the City of Traverse City Twitter IconFacebook IconWeather Icon

City Home > Your Government > Appointed Boards > Board of Zoning Appeals

Board of Zoning Appeals

All appointments are 3-year terms expiring 6/30. Appointments are made by City Commission. The board consists of 9 members:

  • at least one member shall also be member of the City Planning Commission
  • The City Commission shall appoint 2 alternate members for 3-yr terms

Purpose: "To hear and decide appeals where it is alleged by the applicant that there is an error in any order, requirement, etc. made by the Building Official, Zoning Administrator, etc. in administering or enforcing the provision of Ordinance." "To interpret provisions of Ordinance." "To authorize variances and exceptions."

Board of Zoning Appeals application- $240.00

Board of Zoning Appeals Rules and Procedures

This page last updated on 7/7/2017.

Board of Zoning Appeals:
Jeff Cockfield, Chair
Donaldson Douglas 
Jennifer Jones
Matt Hanley
Ashley Thompson
Christopher Carol
Caroline Gersch
Margaret Szajner
Linda Koebert, Planning Commission Rep.
James Wegener, Alternate
Steve Stannard, Alternate

Contact Your Board Members

David Weston, Zoning Administrator (staff)
(231) 922-4464
Email Dave