Traverse City and Garfield Township Recreational Authority Board

Parks. People. Partners.

The Recreational Authority was formed in 2003 as a partnership between the citizens of Traverse City and Garfield Township "for the purpose of the acquisition, construction, operation, maintenance or improvement of public recreation centers, public parks, and public conference centers as may be acquired by the Authority or as may be transferred to it by a participating municipality." (Articles of Incorporation, adopted June 30, 2003.)

In 2004, voters in both jurisdictions approved ballot measures for the Authority to purchase and operate three properties as public parks, known today as Historic Barns Park, Hickory Meadows, and part of the Open Space on West Grand Traverse Bay. In November of 2020, voters approved a new 20-year operating millage for the Authority for it to continue operations and pursue the public purchase and preservation of the former Kroupa property (dubbed Hickory Forest).

Meeting Schedule
Regular board meetings are the first Wednesday of the month at 7:00 p.m. and typically alternate between the Garfield Township Hall (3848 Veterans Drive), the Governmental Center (400 Boardman Avenue), and Historic Barns Park (1500 Red Drive). Study sessions and special meetings are held as needed.


Creation of the Rec Authority was provided for under the provisions of Michigan's Recreational Authorities Act (Public Act No. 321 of 2000). The Rec Authority is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors consisting of seven members, with those members appointed as follows:

  • Three are appointed by the City Commission, with one of those three being an elected City Commissioner
  • Three are appointed by the Garfield Township Board of Trustees, with one of those three being an elected Garfield Township Trustee
  • One is appointed by the Board of Directors of the Grand Traverse Regional Land Conservancy

All board appointments are for three years and expire 6/30.

Staff Liaison:

Matt Cowall
Executive Director

(231) 929-3696

Board Members

Steve Duell (Garfield Board Rep) 
872 N Silver Lake Rd, TC, 49685
(231) 943-0030
Initial Apt. Date: 12/08/2020
Termination: 06/30/2025

Chad Dutmers (City Commission Apt)
1165 Ramsdell Street, TC, 49686
(231) 499-7463
Initial Apt. Date: 05/06/2024
Termination: 06/30/2027

Michael Groleau (Garfield Apt)
493 East Silver Lake Rd, TC, 49685
(231) 463-8201
Initial Apt. Date: 11/10/2003
Termination: 06/30/2027

Tim Hughes (Garfield Apt)
4427 Silver Valley Lane, TC, 49684
(231) 946-9929
Initial Apt. Date: 11/10/2003
Termination: 06/30/2026

Tim Werner (City Commission Rep)
400 Boardman Ave, TC, 49684
(231) 313-6903
Initial Apt. Date: 11/13/2023
Termination: 06/30/2026

Laura Ness (City Commission Apt) 
233 N Madison, TC, 49684
(231) 883-4475
Initial Apt. Date: 08/17/2020
Termination: 06/30/2026

Chris Sullivan (Land Conservancy Apt)
3860 N Long Lake Rd, Ste D, TC, 49684
(231) 929-7911
Initial Apt. Date: 06/27/19
Termination: 06/30/24