Traverse City Coast Guard City Committee


This committee serves in an advisory capacity to the City Commission to make recommendations on matters relating to the operation, development, and planning of the United States Coast Guard services, facilities, and programs within the City of Traverse City. Annually, the committee submits to the City Commission a report of its activities. Additionally, the Committee shall submit to the City Manager a proposed budget for funds necessary for the capital improvements and general operation of the United States Coast Guard Committee systems through the normal budget. The committee may solicit and recommend that the city receive any gifts, etc., to be applied for the Committee's purposes. The use and disposal of such gifts, etc., shall be approved by the City Commission.

Meeting Schedule
Meets the the first Thursday of each month at 3:00 p.m. in the Governmental Center.


All appointments are for three years, with terms expiring August 25, with the initial appointments to be staggered as outlined in the ordinance.    The committee consists of 8 members, who are appointed as follows:   One member Ex-officio is the City Manager or designee, with full voting authority (may be non-registered elector of the city); one member Ex-officio is the Commander serving at the Coast Guard Air Station Traverse City or designee, (may be non-registered elector of the city); and the remaining members are appointed by the City Commission.

Staff Liaison:

Sarah Lutz
Deputy City Clerk
(231) 922-4480

Board Members

Full Voting Authority

Ryan D. Hawn, Coast Guard Commander
Non-Voting Member
(231) 922-8200
Initial Apt. Date: 
Termination: Continuous

Stan Simons
2828 E. Crown Dr, TC, 49685
(231) 499-6979
Initial Apt. Date: 11/07/2011
Termination: 08/25/2025

Steve Perdue
4544 Lands End, TC, 49686
(231) 938-9443
Initial Apt. Date: 09/03/2013
Termination: 08/25/2025

Thomas Haase
9544 Peninsula Dr, TC 49686
(231) 492-7685
Initial Apt. Date: 12/20/2021
Termination: 08/25/2024

Polly Cairns, Chairperson
400 Boardman Ave, TC, 49684
(231) 409-9398
Initial Apt. Date: 10/20/2014
Termination: 08/25/2026

Jessica Brutzman,  Vice Chairperson
737 NE Silver Lake Road, TC, 49685
(509) 554-4314
Initial Apt. Date: 11/16/2020
Termination: 08/25/2026

David Barr
936 Wood Ave, TC, 49686
(231) 620-2523
Initial Apt. Date: 10/20/2014
Termination: 08/25/2023