Board of Zoning Appeals

Purpose

To hear and decide appeals where it is alleged by the applicant that there is an error in any order, requirement, etc. made by the Building Official, Zoning Administrator, etc. in administering or enforcing the provision of Ordinance. To interpret provisions of Ordinance. To authorize variances and exceptions.

Meeting Schedule
The Board of Zoning Appeals meets at 7:00 p.m. on the second Tuesday of the month in the Governmental Center, 2nd Floor Committee Room unless otherwise noted, with some exceptions due to holidays.

Composition

All appointments are 3-year terms expiring 6/30. Appointments are made by City Commission. The board consists of 9 members:

  • At least one member shall also be member of the City Planning Commission
  • The City Commission shall appoint 2 alternate members for 3-yr terms

Staff Liaison:

David Weston
Zoning Administrator

(231) 922-4464
dweston@traversecitymi.gov

Board Members

Jeff Cockfield, Chairperson
1621 Comanche St, TC, 49686
(231) 218-4986
jeffcockfield@gmail.com
Initial Apt. Date: 12/16/2002
Termination: 06/30/2022

Ashley Thompson
335 East Bay Blvd, TC, 49686
(734) 355-3761
ashleythompsonfazzola@gmail.com
Initial Apt. Date: 07/03/2017
Termination: 06/30/2023

Douglas Donaldson 
326 W. Seventh St, TC, 49684
(231) 929-9617
ddonaldsonlaw@gmail.com
Initial Apt. Date: 10/01/2012
(02/19/2008 as an alternate member)
Termination: 06/30/2023

Alternate Member
Vacant
 

Cindy Anderson
324 W. 10th St., TC, 49684
(231) 218-5324
cindy@traversecityproperties.net
Initial Apt. Date: 07/01/2019
Termination: 06/30/2022

Matt Hanley 
515 W. 9th St, TC, 49684
(231) 218-3346
matt@rhhlawtc.com
Initial Apt. Date: 03/17/2014
(08/05/2013 as an alternate member)
Termination: 06/30/2024

David Hassing (Planning Rep)
217 Ninth St.,TC 49684
(917) 648-7965
dhassing13@gmail.com
Initial Apt. Date: 02/05/2018
Termination: 06/30/2024

Steve Stannard
1016 Peninsula Dr, TC, 49686
(443) 540-7654
sjstannard@gmail.com
Initial Apt. Date: 04/17/2017
Termination: 06/30/2024

Mitchell Treadwell (Alternate Member)
620 W. 7th St., TC, 49684
(231) 409-4819
mitchell.treadwell@gmail.com
Initial Apt. Date: 02/01/2021
Termination: 06/30/2024