Historic Districts Commission


To carry out the provisions of Chapter 1462, Part Fourteen, Historic Districts Commission, Traverse City Code of Ordinances. To investigate and recommend to City Commission areas it deems valuable for designation as Historic Districts, to recommend to City Commission structures it deems valuable for designation as Historic Landmarks; etc. Purposes of Ordinances are to safeguard heritage of City - to preserve cultural, political or architectural history - to preserve historic landmarks - to foster civic beauty, etc.


This commission consists of 7 members appointed by the City Commission. All appointments are for 3-year terms expiring 6/30. Members must reside in the City of Traverse City. Appointments consist of:

  • One Member who is a Registered Architect
  • Two Members selected from a list submitted by duly organized and existing preservation societies or historical groups.

Staff Liaison:

David Weston
Planning & Zoning Administrator

(231) 922-4464

Board Members

Jennifer Loup
537 Cromwell Dr, TC, 49684
(231) 392-3253
Initial Apt. Date: 08/16/2021
Termination: 06/30/2024

Bill Twietmeyer
300 East Bay Blvd N, TC, 49686
(231) 946-5441
Initial Apt. Date: 08/16/2021
Termination: 06/30/2024

Stephen Siciliano
627 Eastwood, TC, 49686
(231) 883-1358
Initial Apt. Date: 05/06/2024
Termination: 06/30/2027

Marty MacLeod
727 S Union, TC, 49684
(231) 499-7272
Initial Apt. Date: 09/06/2022
Termination: 06/30/2026

Eric Mansuy
1010 Rose St, TC, 49684
(231) 499-6768
Initial Apt. Date: 12/03/2007
Termination: 06/30/2027

Suzannah Tobin (Architect)
502 Fifth St, TC, 49684
(231) 883-9146
Initial Apt. Date: 06/21/2010
Termination: 06/30/2025

Jackie Shinners 
410 Seventh St. TC, 49684
(231) 941-8667
Initial Apt. Date: 6/30/2016
Termination: 06/30/2025