Human Rights Commission


The Traverse City Human Rights Commission strives to ensure human dignity through advocacy, education, negotiation and information ensuring understanding and respect among all.


To foster mutual understanding and respect among all groups and discourage discriminatory practices, formulate and carry out programs of community education and information, receive and act as conciliator regarding occurrences of acts of prejudice or discrimination, and secure the cooperation of various community groups in educational campaigns devoted to eliminating prejudice and discrimination.

Meeting Schedule
Meets 2nd Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m.

Anyone in the Traverse City area who believes she/he has been discriminated against on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, height, weight, marital status, physical or mental disability, family status, sexual orientation, or gender identity may file a written report of discrimination with the Human Rights Commission.

We encourage you to submit a complaint to the appropriate local, state or federal agency. A statute of limitation may apply. Click here for a complaint form. (Formulario de reclamaciòn)


All appointments are for 3-year terms expiring 6/30.

This commission consists of 9 members to be appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the City Commission. Membership shall be broadly representative of the entire community.

Resolution re-establishing the Human Rights Commission was adopted by the City Commission on June 7, 1993.

Staff Liaison:

Kirstine Bosley
Human Resource Director

(231) 922-4407

Board Members

Jen Loup (City Resident) 
537 Cromwell Dr., TC 49686
(231) 392-3253
Initial Apt. Date: 10/05/2020
Termination: 06/30/2024

Marilyn Jaquish (City Resident) 
331 Birchwood Ave., TC 49686
(231) 929-0740
Initial Apt. Date: 05/02/2016
(Effective 6/30/2016)
Termination: 06/30/2025

Vacant Seat
Termination: 06/30/2024

Merek Roman (City Resident)
517 Third St, TC, 49684
(231) 590-2434 
Initial Apt. Date: 01/16/2024
Termination: 06/30/2026

Corey Winfield (Non-City Resident)
2928 Glen Drive, Apt 5., TC, 4968
(269) 944-9559
Initial Apt. Date: 07/05/2022
Termination: 06/30/2023

Michael Earl (City Resident)
124 E Seventeenth St., TC 49684
(248) 766-6453
Initial Apt. Date: 08/16/2021
Termination: 06/30/2024

Kim Bratton (Non-City Resident)
50 Pleasant Lane, TC, 49696
(231) 642.4697 
Initial Apt. Date: 01/16/2024
Termination: 06/30/2026

Bernard Rubin (City Resident)
967 Lake Ridge Dr. #17 TC, 49686
(817) 366-2171
Initial Apt. Date: 07/05/2022
Termination: 06/30/2025

Kimberly Romberg (City Resident)
530 Georgetown Dr. #47, TC 49684
(231) 499-3327
Initial Apt. Date: 08/16/2021
Termination: 06/30/2025

Resolutions Adopted by the Human Rights Commission

Related Links

Dedicated to promoting freedom from unlawful discrimination