Sara Hardy Humanitarian Award

Image of Award PlaqueThe Traverse City Human Rights Commission will soon be accepting nomnination for the 2024 Sara Hardy Humanitarian Award. This annual award recognizes Sara Hardy’s contributions to the community by honoring someone who exemplifies the ideals of the Human Rights Commission, which are to promote mutual understanding and respect among all people and to discourage discriminatory practices. Sara Hardy was instrumental in establishing the Human Rights Commission more than 30 years ago.

To nominate a person you believe represents the ideals of diversity, equity, and inclusion, please complete a Nomination Form (link above). Please describe the humanitarian activities they are involved in and an explanation as to why you are nominating this individual. Be sure to include the nominee’s full name, email address, address, and telephone number. Also, be sure to include your full name and phone number. Nominators may be asked to present their nominations in person at a Human Rights Commission meeting.

Infomation to submit in coming soon! You are also welcome to email or mail your nomination to the Traverse City Human Rights Commission at OR 400 Boardman Avenue, Traverse City, Michigan 49684. Nominations may also be faxed to 231-922-4470. 

The recipient of the award will be honored at the Governmental Center on a date to be determined. A reception will precede the presentation of the award at the Traverse City Commission meeting that evening. Past recipients of the Sara Hardy Humanitarian Award include Tom Bousamra, Marian Kromkowski, Glenna and Ken Andrews, Jim Rowlett, Brian Simerson, Eugene Fox, Susan Odgers, Joe Lada, Courtney Wiggins, and Kathy Sanders.

For more information, please email Human Resources at

We look forward to receiving your nomination. 

Sara Hardy Award Recipients:

1993 - Mary Lou Hansen

1994 - Edwin Frederick

1995 - Jim Carruthers

1996 - Terry Fogle

1997 - Dorothy Kye

1998 - Tom Shea

1999 - Rabbi Stacie Fine

2000 - Jo Bullis 

2002 - Paul Heaton

2003 - Tom Appel

2004 - Jeff Haas

2005 - Ann Rogers and Ed Emenheiser

2006 - Sandra Svec and David Vinocur

2007 - Steve Perdue

2008 - Gertrude Morgan Springer

2009 - Jim Rowlett and Brian Simerson

2010 - Eugene Fox and Susan Odgers

2011 - Joe Lada

2012 - Helen Cook

2013 - Gladys Muñoz

2014 - Jane Hayes

2015 - Ken and Glenda Andrews

2016 - Marian Kromkowski

2017 - Dayna Ryan

2018 - Emmy Lou Cholak & Jenn Cameron

2019 - Sally Van Vlleck

2020 - Tom Bousamra

2021 - Ryan Hannon and Bill and Michelle White

2022 - Courtney Wiggins

2023 - Kathy Sanders