Human Rights Commission Seeking Nominations for Sara Hardy Humanitarian Award

March 14, 2023

Human Rights Commission Seeks Sara Hardy Humanitarian Award Nominations
Nominations due by April 6, 2023

The Traverse City Human Rights Commission is accepting nominations for the 2023 Sara Hardy Humanitarian Award. This annual award recognizes Sara Hardy’s contributions to the community by honoring someone who exemplifies the ideals of the Human Rights Commission, which are to promote mutual understanding and respect among all people and to discourage discriminatory practices. Sara Hardy was instrumental in establishing the Human Rights Commission more than 30 years ago.

To nominate a person you believe represents the ideals of diversity, equity, and inclusion, please complete a Nomination Form at the link, Please describe the humanitarian activities they are involved in and an explanation as to why you are nominating this individual. Be sure to include the nominee’s full name, email address, address, and telephone number. Also, be sure to include your full name and phone number. Nominators may be asked to present their nominations in person at a Human Rights Commission meeting.

“The Sara Hardy Humanitarian Award is a highlight each year of the Human Rights Commission’s work. We look forward to honor an individual that embodies the spirit of the award and meets the mission of the Human Rights Commission by contributing to the Traverse City region in an impactful way,” stated Kristine Bosley, Human Resource Director and Human Rights Commission staff liaison.

The deadline to submit nominations is APRIL 6, 2023 with the link provided below. You are also welcome to email or mail your nomination to the Traverse City Human Rights Commission at OR 400 Boardman Avenue, Traverse City, Michigan 49684. Nominations may also be faxed to 231-922-4470.

The recipient of the award will be honored at the Governmental Center on a date to be determined. A reception will precede the presentation of the award at the Traverse City Commission meeting that evening. Past recipients of the Sara Hardy Humanitarian Award include Ryan Hannon, Tom Bousamra, Marian Kromkowski, Glenna and Ken Andrews, Jim Rowlett, Brian Simerson, Eugene Fox, Susan Odgers, and Joe Lada.

Learn More