City Engineering

PHONE

(231) 922-4456

FAX

(231) 922-4457

HOURS

Monday–Friday
8:00am–5:00pm
Excluding Most Federal Holidays

ADDRESS

City of Traverse City
Engineering Department
400 Boardman Avenue
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Map

Tim Lodge, P.E.

City Engineer
(231) 922-4455
tlodge@traversecitymi.gov

Alexander Yockey, P.E.

Civil Engineer II
(231) 922-4467
ayockey@traversecitymi.gov

John McWethy

Public Services Assistant
(231) 922-4467
jmcwethy@traversecitymi.gov

Zach Cole, P.E.

Civil Engineer I
(231) 922-4492
zcole@traversecitymi.gov

Kyle Kobylski, P.E.

Engineering Technician
(231) 922-6894
kkobylski@traversecitymi.gov

Brandon Glowacki

Engineering Aide
(231) 922-6894
bglowacki@traversecitymi.gov

Tristan Graham

Engineering Aide
(231) 922-4439
tgraham@traversecitymi.gov

Teresa Nichols

Engineering Adminstrative Assistant
(231) 922-4456
tnichols@traversecitymi.gov

Show More

Overview

The work performed by the Engineering Department includes:

  • Utility reviews in conjunction with land use permits, right-of-way permits, stormwater runoff control permits, and soil erosion permits
  • Administration and inspection of right-of-way permits, stormwater runoff control permits, and soil erosion permits
  • Motorized and non-motorized traffic counts and studies
  • Engineering design of City infrastructure projects such as:
    • Street and Parking Lot Reconstruction and Resurfacing
    • Storm Water Quality, Sewer, and Water Systems
    • Bridge and Culvert Inspection, Construction, and Rehabilitation
    • City Building Construction, Rehabilitation, and Renovation
    • Bike Paths and Trails
    • Sidewalk Improvements, Repair, and Infill
    • City Park and Bayfront Improvements
  • Construction engineering and site inspection
  • Contract administration
  • Development of City engineering reports and guidelines for engineering best practices
  • Historic record-keeping for City projects
    • GIS utility record keeping
    • Electronic and hard copies of as-builts
  • Collaboration with numerous adjacent municipalities, advocacy groups, and private entities within the City limits
  • Has representatives for numerous multi-jurisdictional committees, including:
    • Regional Bridge Council and Bridge Scour Committee (MDOT)
    • Regional Transportation Planning and Traffic Assessment (TTCI)
    • North Region Pedestrian and Bicycle Committee (MDOT)
  • Assists in several other aspects of the City, including:
    • Ordinance Compliance and Development
    • Economic Development Projects
    • Asset Management
    • Budgeted Capital Improvements
    • Grant Applications
    • Transportation Planning