Active Transportation

Active Transportation

Active Transportation Advisory Committee 
The purpose of the ATAC is to make recommendations to the City Manager for every budget season regarding transportation objectives.

To enable and optimize use of current infrastructure and provide for safer, more and better active transportation options.

A community designed for healthy, active living that provides and promotes safe, inviting, efficient and inclusive access to public and private attractions regardless of age, physical ability, or choice of transportation.


  • A complete, well maintained, active transportation network that encourages a healthy mix of transportation choices that support community goals for environmental protection, social cohesion, and self-reliance.
  • A land-use strategy that encourages a variety of neighborhood businesses, schools, and parks within a 15-minute walk.

Committee Members

Harry Burkholder, DDA
Bill Clark, BATA
Marty Colburn, City Manager
Daren Dixon, TCL&P
Amy Hartzog, TART Trails
Gary Howe, Norte
Alanna Lahey, Disability Network
Kyle Kobylski, City Engineer
Carolyn Ulstad, Groundworks
Nicole VanNess, DDA
Dan Wagner, MDOT
Tim Werner, City Commission
Shawn Winter, City Planning Director

View the interactive online map showing existing and proposed active transportation infrastructure here.


Resolution Establishing the Active Transporation Advisory Committee


MDOT Bicycle and Pedestrian Terminology

Mobility Action Plan Initiative